dating · life

Getting a dog and getting engaged?!

A dog is something that both C and I are desperate to get, unfortunately we haven’t had the opportunity to get one yet as we are renting at a place that doesn’t allow pets. The South Island is much more relaxed in that department and most places I’ve looked at are either pets negotiable or are OK with them which is awesome!

The only thing that I think may be an issue is that as much as I’d love to have a ‘family’ dog, I’m rather possessive over my animals and want them to be ‘mine’ so I’d much rather have one each. Plus, that way it won’t become an issue if I want to train it differently and because we aren’t married, sharing a pet is never a good idea as you never know what is going to happen. Another reason to get two is the fact that they have a buddy and if they are left at home for a few hours, they have company.

I’ve always wanted a Siberian Husky or an Alaskan Malamute as I love the snow dogs and the intelligence and energy that comes with that. Although they are stubborn and sometimes more resistant to training, this is purely to do with the fact that they are probably more intelligent that us in their own way and won’t do something they don’t want to do, however, I like this idea and I know that the reward of finally training them will feel great. I have a lot of experience with dogs and have actually worked at kennels doing dog training so I have a good idea as to how to train them and being a vet nurse, I can handle the health side of things so am quite well set up to own a dog.

I haven’t personally spent much time with Malamutes although have spent a day or two with some Huskies in the kennels and they seem to interact well with the other dogs. It’s difficult to do too much research as although there is plenty, not much of it is New Zealand based and breeding can vary significantly from country to country. It’s on my to do list to contact one of the breeders here and as far as I can tell, there are only two of them here in New Zealand so there’s not too much choice but hopefully they are decent dogs and I’m going to go look at them soonish, possibly on my way down to the South Island. There’s a year waiting list as far as I’m aware which means that getting my foot in the door now is a good idea even if I’m only going to be getting one at the end of the year.

Speaking of the end of the year, me and C had a nice long conversation about feeling and plans etc and he said that the proposal will come when I graduate at the end of this year. So hopefully that happens but we will see!

If anyone has any experience with Malamutes, good or bad let me know!

xx Cassie

2 thoughts on “Getting a dog and getting engaged?!

    1. They are definitely escape artists!! And unfortunately none that I know of. This country doesn’t seem to have a wide range of places to get malamutes unfortunately plus I do like to know the breeding of a dog like this as they can have traits that aren’t very desirable.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

